Vernadskiy Tavricheskiy National University
return to TNU return to main

Taurida National University named after V.I.Vernadskiy is the successor to Taurida University - the first higher educational establishment in Crimea founded in 1918.
In February 1921 it was transformed into Crimean University named after M. V. Frunze.
In 1925 Crimean Teacher Training Institute was founded on its basis.
In February 1972 it was transformed into Simferopol State University named after M. I. Frunze. One of the first university rectors was outstanding Soviet scientist, the founder of geochemistry and biogeochemistry, academician V.I.Vernadskiy.
Many world-known scientists conducted scientific and pedagogical work in the University who became the Heroes of Socialist Labor (one of the highest awards in the former Soviet Union.) Among them √ the geologist and geographer V. A. Obruchev,. the chemist and metallographer A. Baikov, physicists A.F. Ioffe and I.E. Tamm. Many scientists √academicians made a great contribution into education and scientific research in the University, and among them √ the botanist V.I. Palladin, the parasitologist E.N. Pavlovskiy, the mathematician N.M. Krylov, the historian B.D. Grekov.
Among those who graduated from the University were physicists, Heroes of Socialist Labor and Laureates of Lenin and State Awards I.V. Kurchatov and K.I. Shchelkov.
Taurida National University is scientific, educational, cultural center on the territory of Crimean Autonomous Republic. It maintains close contacts with industrial, agricultural, resort, cultural and social organizations, educational establishments of different regions of the CIS and universities and educational institutions from abroad. The university has obtained the fourth level of accreditation and it is a member of international associations of universities.
There are 16 faculties at the University. The University has been offering three forms of tuition √ full-time, evening, and extramural, there are also preparatory and post-graduate departments. At present the total enrollment amounts to twelve thousand students from different regions of Ukraine, CIS countries, and abroad.
The University has a large intellectual potential. 62 doctors and 281 candidates work there at 63 chairs and 12 research laboratories. Among them you can meet an academician of the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, 6 academicians of the Academy of Sciences of Crimea, 60 professors and 272 associate professors.
There is a Center of Computer Technologies, "Domain" Research Bureau, specialized training laboratories and auditoriums, Zoo Museum, Scientific Library with over one million books, and among them - a lot of rarities. Students and lecturers have "Prometeus" Sanitary Complex and "Golubaya Volna" ("BlueWave") Holiday Hotel, located in resort center Alushta, at their disposal.
Physical Faculty is one of the oldest faculties that inherited the best traditions of enlightenment. Prominent scientists lectured there: the academician A. F. Ioffe, famous for his researches on semiconductors; the corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR Ya. I. Frenkel, the founder of theory of ferromagnetism; the Nobel laureate I.E. Tamm, well-known for his researches in quantum mechanics.
Geographical Faculty was founded in 1934. Among the faculty graduates are the academician D.I Shcherbakov and professor B.D. Fedorovich.
Philological Faculty has been in the University since its foundation. Famous scientists work there: the academician V. I. Borkovskiy, corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of USSR E.V.Petukhov, professors N.K.Gudziy, A.N.Lukianenko, V.I.Filonenko, A.I.Germanovich, V.N.Migirin. Among the graduates of the Faculty are writers Y.Krushtoff, M.Glushko, D.Kononenko.


return to structure
Administration  Structure  History of University  The Concept of Development  Entrance Examination Electronic library Personal pages   
Conference, seminars  Projects, Grants   Electronic Editions   Contact information © 2002 Vernadskiy Tavricheskiy National University